top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSteven B

The Popsters vs. The Rock N Rollers

Updated: Oct 20, 2021



Hi friends – welcome back to 50s Tunes with Steve - the best place to learn about, listen to, and snap along with some of the great artists of the 1950s.


Today I’d like to take the time to address the shift in music that occurred in the mid-1950s and caused some controversy to say the least.


Often times in my blog you’ll hear me say a negative word or two about the Rock n Roll genre, mostly because the artists who were considered “Rock N Rollers” didn’t present a good image to America’s youth.


You can think of the rock artists of the 50s like the modern-day Eminem. While that seems a little extreme to us today, that’s how Rock N Roll was viewed by the older generation in the 50s - a genre of music that was corrupting the minds of young people.


Rock N Roll was meant to be different than what was currently playing on radio stations across the nation, and some have even called it revolutionary to music as a whole.


While I’ll agree that it was in fact revolutionary, it did pose a threat to the clean, happy-go-lucky music the pop artists were presenting to the public, and which this blog revolves around – the pre-Elvis Presley era if you will.


With that said, I’d like you to take a listen to a few of the songs the pop artists recorded in an attempt to create, a lighter, fluffier rock sound, that would be more appealing to all generations of Americans.


Some of these songs charted very well, and others not so much. I personally love them all, but I leave it up to you to decide if you think these songs truly sound like Rock N Roll music.


Ko Ko Mo (I Love You So)


“Ko Ko Mo” is considered one of the very first Rock n Roll songs and has been covered by over 17 different artists including Louis Armstrong, and The Charms.


Originally recorded in 1954 by Gene and Eunice, a singing duo, its most well-known recording is by crooner Perry Como, who brought the song all the way to #1, and to #25 on billboard’s top 30 singles of 1955.


You can do a comparison here and decide for yourself if you believe Como’s version deserves being called a Rock N Roll record.


Gene and Eunice – Ko Ko Mo.”


Perry Como – “Ko Ko Mo.”


Obviously, I’m partial to Como’s version.

Two Hearts


In 1955 Doris Day, Frank Sinatra, and Pat Boone all recorded a song titled “Two Hearts” by Otis Williams and The Charms.


Boone’s version charted at #16 for several weeks, arguably kicking off the start of his career. Listen here – Pat Boone: “Two Hearts.”


Sinatra and Day’s version did not chart at all, most likely because it was a song that they would not have typically recorded but did so in attempt to keep up with the rock trend.


Listen to Sinatra’s version here – “Two Hearts.”


Listen to Day’s version here – “Two Hearts.”


If you ask me, Doris Day did a phenomenal job with this song and should have sold over a million copies, but she wasn’t so lucky.


This was the first and last time either artist – Sinatra and Day – tried their hand at Rock N Roll.


Tweedlee Dee


In 1954 Rhythm and Blues artist, Lavern Baker recorded a song titled “Tweedlee Dee.”


This was Bakers first hit song on the R&B charts, and her hope was that it might become a pop record, but in my personal opinion, Baker’s version could have never become a pop record as the song itself wasn’t poppy or fluffy enough in the way that it was recorded. I say this because of the way she accentuates her words in the recording.


Georgia Gibbs, a pop artist, was asked by the Mercury label to record a word-for-word cover of the song, but this version would be faster and more upbeat than Baker’s version.


Gibbs took the song to #1 and charted at #16 with it on the billboard top 30 singles of 1955.

Take a listen to her version here – Gibbs “Tweedlee Dee.”


I’m personally not a fan of Baker’s original record and I wonder how it even did as well as it did, but I’ll let you the reader, make your own judgment as to who recorded the better version.


I think ultimately both can be considered Rock N Roll.


I Got A Woman/I Got A Sweetie

“I Got A Woman” has to be one of the most well-known songs in the world of rock/popular music.


The song was originally performed by the great Ray Charles and recorded in 1954.

Charles was an artist whose R&B and soul music could never be matched by the likes of anybody.


Keeping that thought in mind, I’m about to take the most unpopular opinion I think I’ve ever taken (except maybe my opinion that The Beatles are terrible.)


“I’ve Got A Woman” has been covered by more artists than I can count, including Ricky Nelson, The Beatles, Elvis Presley, and Bobby Darin. But to me, one stands out above the rest.


In 1955, pop artist Jo Stafford, who was considered one of the most versatile voices in music, recorded the song under the title “I Got A Sweetie.”


The lyrics were changed to sound fluffier and not as rough as Charles’ version, but Stafford’s did not chart.


Call me crazy, but as much as I love Ray Charles and his music, I have always preferred her version of this song, but the question I pose to you is, do you feel her version can be considered Rock N Roll? Do you even consider Charles’ version to be Rock N Roll?


I personally consider them both to be, but others seem to have a different opinion.


That’s all for today!


Thanks for reading folks, I hope you enjoyed hearing these great tunes, and maybe you’ll get out and listen to a little pop/rock yourself after reading this!


Until next time friends, this is your 50s music fanatic, Steven B. – signing off!

Recent Posts

See All

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page